Back to my passion

The last couple of weeks have been a wonderful hiatus, filled with family, friends and frenzy. All good things in the right combination. In between all this, I even managed to quietly turn 31! So, it was a pretty good July, more than I could hope for.

In the two weeks of a blistering summer, there have been plenty of ice cream breaks, botanical garden visits, loads of shopping and basically a large honking heap of indulgence. As I sat down to review the pictures that I was to post, I saw a pattern of flowers and Zen gardens appearing a lot in my photographs. Why do I bring that up? Well, in my “About” page, I mention that I love photographing people, landscapes, travel, music and wine….and my flower pictures border on macro photography. I said this before and I am saying it again – I am NOT a macro photographer, though it is a highly interesting field I only accidentally dabble in it. It is rather hard to walk through the Brooklyn Botanical gardens and not take a few close up shots of roses in bloom.

They say that a bee on a flower or a water droplet adds that ooomph factor to a picture of a flower, but having tried to patiently wait for that moment is rather trying! The shots of bees and butterflies on flowers aren’t my best shots in this series simply because they were happy accidents. Try photographing a butterfly who has a “kid in the candy store” moment when he flies into a botanical garden filled with flowers in bloom! I dare you, I double dare you! There isn’t time to adjust the ISO or your aperture or shutter speeds when he simply can’t decide which flower would be the best.  Or imagine this, bright westerly sunshine, combined with moving sprinklers that create a moving rainbow which isn’t created at the same spot twice…..these are just moments, you either capture them with what you got or you don’t. Fortunately for me, I am never unhappy with such shots, they could be better but I am not unhappy. I know I did what I could.

So here is what I have to say about the pictures I will be posting for the next couple of days – there will be flowers and gardens today. People and moments tomorrow and so on…Enjoy!

Please click on the image to see a larger version.

Back to my passion