Au Revoir NYC…Part Deux

I leave the US on friday, but I bid New York a very final goodbye today by capturing her other side from the borough that lives in the shadows of the Big Apple. It is a gorgeous spot to be – Brooklyn Bridge Park – smack dab between the Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridges. The walk into the park entrance on Main St is an excellent set up for what is to come when you enter the park – as you walk down Main St, the Empire State Building peeks out from underneath the majestic Manhattan Bridge. As though getting dressed up for one final date with me, the Empire State Building was lit in red, white and green, today. The park is dotted with couples getting professional snapshots of themselves for impending nuptial announcements and tourists. I had a New York moment today at the park. As I was wrapping up my shoot, a Japanese tourist walked up to me and asked if he could borrow my tripod. The man did not speak a word of English and spoke to me in Japanese and pointed at what he wanted. As I helped him set up he did not have a base on his camera that could screw into my tripod, I could see the disappointment in him as he figured this would be a huge impediment – a)He couldn’t shoot pictures at all using a tripod because he did not have a base screwed into his camera, b) He would have to ask me in sign language for a base. Truth is he never had to ask, I had an extra pair and we used it on his camera. I am an Indian, who met a Japanese man with no English skills in New York City and we helped him out. New York can be mean, but it wasn’t today! As the park filled in with more couples, tourists, dog walkers and joggers, I walked away with my last sight of New York – a gorgeously beautiful city, twinkling away to glory.

Au Revoir NYC…Part Deux