Aditya Hridayam Punyam

This post is a dedication to the Sun God, to light – as the headline suggests, in sanskrit. Light is perhaps, the most important element in photography. Capturing an objects beauty through a lens is completely and solely dependent on light. The shadows, the highlights, the enhancement of color, soft light, harsh light, shot next to a window or shot in the open, light is the key factor, isn’t it? Photography is in a lot of ways the study of wielding light to capture images.

Every afternoon, a small ray of sunshine filters through our living room window and traverses across the room as the sun sets. I took a few shots of a single object in the living room – an urli(small vessel) filled with water and floating chrysanthemums. I shot these mid afternoon, just as the ray of light begins to form in the room. I shot these with an f-stop range of 4.6-5.3 with a 18-55mm lens and played just a little bit with the shutter speed to experiment on how the shadows were captured. This is the first of my dedications to light…..soon the offerings shall get bigger and better! I did play with these pictures a bit on photoshop – just cropped dead space and played a bit with black and white and sepia tones, just to see what I can come up with. Some pictures will be presented in color and black and white, simply because I cannot make up my mind on which one is better.

As usual, all my photos and posts are copyrighted. Please click on a picture to view an enlarged version – which is truly the only way to enjoy them!

Happy Weekend everybody – now am happily off to see Endhiran(a tamil movie) and Harry Potter 7 , over the weekend. See you on the other side.

Aditya Hridayam Punyam