Off experimenting, learning and unlearning

I’ve almost neglected this blog for a month now and I am not too sorry I did, because I was off experimenting and finishing up some assignments. I’ve had a couple of portrait shoots and have been working on the idea of diptychs, so yes thankfully I have been gainfully busy. I have always said that I am a visual person and that I can’t quite understand a concept until I encounter it in reality. Case in point – perspectives! Perspective in the angle you shoot a subject, perspective in the way your work is perceived, perspective in the way you understand a client brief….perspective,yes that perspective.  I am still learning and I think in more ways than one , I always will be.

I am still learning how to communicate that I am not the regular passport photo photographer, that when I make a portrait it is meant to capture a moment or a facet of someone by merely suggesting through background, placement of props, angle and maybe some posing and without tweaking the reality of their looks.

However, something I am sure of is that – at any given moment there is always plenty of opportunity. I was recently at a portrait shoot on the beach and when I turned around to change my lens, I saw a fantastic sunset over an urban landscape. Dramatic, with a few dark clouds – although I know I did not do full photographic justice to the sunset, I did get the chance to shoot a few quick snaps. I am also learning to never listen to or give in to your hired assistant for the day – that’s a story for another day, but a lesson nevertheless.

Honestly though, I am enjoying these periods where I get to set off and experiment, sometimes these are not always in field! Sometimes, I take a look back at photos that I deemed unfit and go back and see what can be done with it or is it completely hopeless – this exercise has given back a few really good snaps in the recent past. A change of perspective is definitely worth its weight in gold no matter what form it comes in. It can be a challenge, a question, an introspection or the answer to all my problems.

While you ponder the profoundness of the post, here is a small glimpse of what I have been up to.

The following are diptychs of photos that already exist on this blog. Diptychs are a cool concept  – it is any object with two flat surfaces bound together with a hinge. In photography we take it to mean, two photos with a common factor. Its the most simplistic definition that I can give for the concept… anyhow, enjoy!

This last diptych was taken during the portrait shoot that I have mentioned above. This was the gorgeous sunset that everyone missed while looking at the beach in front of them, sometimes it does help to look away!

All photographs and written material are subject to copyright. Nothing in this blog can be used without the author’s permission. Please click on the pictures to view an enlarged version and if you are interested in booking a portraiture session or buying any of my prints please leave me a message.

Off experimenting, learning and unlearning