iBelieve the Dots connect Mr.Jobs

I don’t know Steve Jobs, except for the fact that everyday I use something that he created. A man I don’t know personally and unfortunately never will either, passed away today and yet it feels like a personal loss. I can’t but imagine and wish that his death was peaceful and in the arms of those he loves and with full faith that he was able to live a life that was his. Something, he wished every graduate and everyone in the world when he spoke at that very famous commencement speech at Stanford. I watched that speech about a year ago, and it was around the time I had switched careers to photography. I was new at this and had nothing but love and passion to give at that point in time. At 30, it was a frustrating decision to make, one that has kept me up on several nights. But in his speech that day he said two things that struck a chord with me :

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life”

“‎Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.”

Two things to live by. My work is my passion, it is what I love to do, unconditionally. I enjoy every tiny little detail and aspect of it and love the pitfalls. I love failing and picking myself up. I love when the detractors buzz around me like vultures and I love it even more when I can wipe the smirk off their faces when I succeed. So maybe there is some sort of cosmic connection or plain darn coincidence, that the man who gave me those two bylines dies on the same day National Geographic gets in touch with me to let me know they are publishing a photograph of mine as the editor’s choice on their Your Shot page of the magazine and an e-magazine that I help edit – launches !

So here’s to you Steve Jobs, for proving to people like me that passion and hard work count for something! For being crazy enough to show us that you can impact the world just by being crazy!

I have been working away furiously on a digital magazine for a group called Wide Angle. It is a group for photographers by photographers and we just launched our first issue. Here is the link to the magazine and if interested do join the group, there is a lot to learn and share with a whole bunch of willing and knowledgeable photographers from all over the globe. And, this is the photograph that made it into National Geographic

To see it on the National Geographic site go here  – it is the last photograph as you scroll right.  For months I have wondered what was to be gained from all these personal projects that I shoot, I realize now that the dots connect. I trusted my gut and kept going, trusting that somewhere in the future one of these will make a dent and IT DID! Look out for the photograph in the November issue. I will in all probability proudly display a scanned copy of the mag on this very same blog in about a months’ time.

Till then, if you are interested in purchasing prints of my work, do message me. Also do remember that all my work is mine and mine only, meaning no one gets to reuse anything on this blog without my permission!

iBelieve the Dots connect Mr.Jobs

One thought on “iBelieve the Dots connect Mr.Jobs

Comments are closed.