Pink Grapefruit, Strawberry & Orange Rose’ Sangria

If you live in the northern hemisphere, you know its a hot one out there today. So here’s my idea for a good cool off – a pink grapefruit, strawberry & orange Rose’ sangria. Am probably going to serve this tonight with a light salad of some sort. Its one of those days when I don’t want anything hot , spicy or heavy, going into my system.

Before I give you my recipe for this incredibly invigorating cooler, the set up is simple its a small light box that I received as a christmas gift, propped up against a window. It was shot around 2pm and the window is east facing, so there is no “direct” sunlight streaming in, that can cause very harsh shadows. Simple props of two highball glasses, the “napkin” is actually a top of mine folded to look like one, and some oranges I had at home.

Voila!

Sangria 1

sangria 2

sangria 3

Recipe

2 large pink grapefruit sliced

1 pint fresh strawberries, hulled

3 oranges sliced

1/2 cup orange juice

1/2 cup pink grapefruit juice ( i juiced another 2 grapefruit)

1/2 cup vodka ( if you have either orange flavor or grapefruit flavored its better, otherwise just use normal vodka)

1 bottle rose’ wine ( i used a spanish grenache rose)

Put everything into a jug and let it mascerate overnight. If you want it to be a little sweeter add some simple syrup, it was perfect without the syrup though.

All pictures and material on this blog are copyright of Photopportunist.com/shruthi venkatasubramanian. If you are interested in working with me on a food shoot or purchasing a print of my work, kindly visit my website – http://www.photopportunist.com

Pink Grapefruit, Strawberry & Orange Rose’ Sangria